Emily Paints and Decorates

It’s been entirely too long since I posted here. I have been incredibly busy of late and have been too tired at the end of the day to write anything coherent or worthwhile.

One of the projects that have kept me busy has been the redecorating of Thing1’s bedroom. Before these pictures were taken, there were bland off-white walls and lighthouse wallpaper – not exactly a kid’s dream come true.

My oldest boy has a wild brain that already understands how electricity and circuits work. I asked him what he wanted in his room and he said he wanted circuit boards on the walls and video game posters. So, here is what I came up with, minus the posters because those didn’t go up until recently and I don’t have a photo at the moment.

Here is the wall mural, from Wallmonkeys:

DSC00580

Here is another Wallmonkeys mural on the bedframe headboard:

DSC00583

We went for an industrial look here with outdoor grade outlet covers from Homestead Do-It Best Center:

DSC00389

I picked this light switch cover up at Lowe’s Home Improvement Warehouse for $5.97.

DSC00390

I picked this One Way sign up at an antique store in Chamberlain, SD on one of my summer adventures along the Missouri River, only $15:

DSC00392

Thing1 picked out the colors. I think he did a great job! This green wall now has five video game posters on it:

DSC00385

So now my Mini-Super Scientist Inventor Guy has a room that will help inspire him to continue to dream big dreams and DO STUFF.

Emily, Doer of Stuff

One thought on “Emily Paints and Decorates

Leave a Reply

