The Florida Everglades

DSC00098

I had the opportunity to ride on an airboat recently in the Florida Everglades. Despite having to get up in the wee hours of the morning, the trip was wonderful.

DSC00102

This little guy was the co-pilot of my boat. He is six years old. I can only imagine that spending your summer on a boat like this with Dad would be fantastically adventurous.

DSC00114

We had really great weather. I coated myself with sunblock since my northern-European skin isn’t used to all of this blatent Vitamin D.

DSC00120

DSC00124

This is the view from behind me.

DSC00128

There were at least 3 other boats out that day. Where there be boats, there be gators.

DSC00143

Did I mention the absurdly terrific weather?

DSC00144

Here is a male grackle. He seemed totally comfortable around the boats.

DSC00148

This is a female alligator. Not a very big one.

DSC00153

Here is our grackle friend calling out an alert.

DSC00161

And here is another female gator approaching.

DSC00170

DSC00177

The weather did start promising some mystery and intrigue.

DSC00186

I love the reflections of the clouds in the water.

DSC00190

Here’s a line of some potential rainfall. It started pouring rain within 10 minutes of us getting back to the docks.

DSC00191

This cormorant was sunning himself.

DSC00194

As was this turkey vulture.

DSC00199

I’m squinting in the sun, not mad. Self-portrait.

DSC00205

I love how we leave out mark everywhere, don’t you? Not everything gets to remain pristine, I guess. I do like my electricity.

DSC00208

Ahhhh. Industrial infrastructure……

DSC00209

Geographers in the field?

DSC00212

I had a great morning. Highly recommended!

Emily, Doer of Stuff

Leave a Reply

